Source: University of Tennessee | Release | May 20, 2015

Wes Hines 5.24.12Wes Hines, head of the Department of Nuclear Engineering at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, has been elected Fellow of the American Nuclear Society.

The ANS honors members for outstanding accomplishments in nuclear science or nuclear engineering. Criteria for consideration include having “compiled a professional record of experience marked by significant contribution to the advancement of one or more of the various disciplines served by the Society.”

Hines was recognized for his scholarly accomplishments as a leader in the discovery and development of reliability enhancing condition monitoring technologies for the nuclear industry.

“This is certainly a nice recognition on a personal level, but it’s also a strong indication that the work we are doing here at UT is both relevant and important,” said Hines, who is also Postelle Professor in the department. “It is also fulfilling to see that our scholarly achievements here are being recognized by our peers.”

The selection makes Hines the fifth person associated with the department to become an ANS Fellow, along with Condra Chair and Chancellor’s Professor Lawrence Townsend, Professor Belle Upadhyaya, Governor’s Chair Steven Zinkle, and Adjunct Professor Hash Hashemian.

Hines has received several other accolades for his contributions to nuclear engineering.

He was named 2014’s Glenn Murphy Award winner for the American Society for Engineering Education’s Nuclear Engineering Division, the 2015 SEC Faculty Achievement Award, the 1997 Duke Power Distinguished Professor of Nuclear Engineering, and has won several college and departmental awards, including being named a distinguished alumni of Ohio State  University from two different units.

“Wes has brought great expertise to the department and great honor upon it,” said Wayne Davis, dean of the College of Engineering at UT. “His leadership has helped make it one of the top five departments in the country, so it’s good to see him gain recognition for his work.”

Hines, who also served as UT’s interim vice chancellor for research and engagement before becoming department head, will receive the award at the ANS banquet in San Antonio in June.

For more on the Department of Nuclear Engineering, visit

For more on the College of Engineering, visit

For more on the American Nuclear Society, visit