Source: ETEC | Release | June 4, 2020

The East Tennessee Economic Council (ETEC) is now accepting nominations for the 2020 Muddy Boot Award and Postma Young Professional Medal.

In 1973, the founders of ETEC (then the Roane Anderson Economic Council or R-AEC) created the Muddy Boot Award to reflect the efforts of the Manhattan Project founders of Oak Ridge, who worked through adverse conditions to build the community. Each year thereafter, ETEC has honored individuals or groups of people who have continued to help build and bolster the community’s economic base. The award has been presented to elected officials, business leaders, representatives of the Department of Energy, and others.

The objective is to recognize an individual – not an institution – for significant and long-term contributions to the East Tennessee region with respect to the federal government programs and its spin-offs by leveraging the federal presence to create private-sector jobs. Participation in the community beyond the workplace is essential.

The 2019 Muddy Boot award recipients were U.S. Senator Lamar Alexander; Dr. Harold Conner, Jr.; Edwina Crowe; and Dr. Lee Riedinger.

In 2005, ETEC created the Postma Young Professional Medal to honor the accomplishments of young professionals who have made an impact and fostered a community culture in Oak Ridge and the region. Former ORNL Director Herman Postma epitomized this community spirit during his life; and his wife, Pat, continues the tradition of service today through her local involvement.

The 2019 Postma Medal recipient was Brad Spears of EnTech Advantage.

Nomination submissions for the Muddy Boot Award and Postma Young Professional Medal should include a letter to the selection committee containing specific reasons for the nomination along with the nominee’s resume and bio.

Detailed criteria for the awards are posted online. Nominations will be accepted through Friday, August 21, 2020, and can be submitted through ETEC’s website, by email, or mail.