Source: ETEC | Release | June 4, 2019

The East Tennessee Economic Council (ETEC) is now accepting nominations for the 2019 Muddy Boot Award and Postma Young Professional Medal.

In 1973, the founders of ETEC (then the Roane Anderson Economic Council or R-AEC) created the Muddy Boot Award to reflect the efforts of the Manhattan Project founders of Oak Ridge, who worked through adverse conditions to build the community. Each year thereafter, ETEC has honored individuals or groups of people who have continued to help build and bolster the community’s economic base. The award has been presented to elected officials, business leaders, representatives of the Department of Energy, and others.

The objective is to recognize an individual – not an institution – for significant and long-term contributions to the East Tennessee region with respect to the federal government programs and its spin-offs by leveraging the federal presence to create private sector jobs. Participation in the community beyond the workplace is essential.

The 2018 Muddy Boot award recipient was Sherry Browder, reindustrialization manager for UCOR.

In conjunction with the annual presentation of the Muddy Boot, ETEC also publicly awards the Postma Young Professional Medal.

In 2005, ETEC created the Postma Young Professional Medal to honor the accomplishments of young professionals who have made an impact and fostered a community culture in Oak Ridge and the region. Former ORNL Director Herman Postma epitomized this community spirit during his life; and his wife, Pat, continues the tradition of service today through her local involvement.

The 2018 Postma Medal recipients were Naomi Asher, director of the United Way of Anderson County and UCOR’s chief of staff, Ashley Hartman Saunders.

Nomination submissions for the Muddy Boot Award and Postma Young Professional Medal should include a letter to the selection committee containing specific reasons for the nomination along with the nominee’s resume and bio.

Detailed criteria for the awards are posted online at Nominations will be accepted through Friday, August 16, 2019, and may be submitted through ETEC’s website, by email, or mail.

Email nominations to:; Subject – 2019 Awards Committee

Mail nominations to:
ETEC 2019 Awards Committee
1201 Oak Ridge Turnpike, Suite 100
Oak Ridge, TN 37830

ETEC is an independent, regional, non-profit, membership organization created in the early 1970s, dedicated to supporting the federal government’s missions in East Tennessee, as well as seeking new ways to create prosperity, promote regional development, and explore opportunities for growth.