Source: ETEC | Release | May 16, 2017

East Tennessee Economic Council (ETEC) is now accepting nominations for the 2017 Muddy Boot Award and Postma Young Professional Medal.

In 1973, the founders of ETEC (then the Roane Anderson Economic Council or R-AEC) created the Muddy Boot Award to reflect the efforts of the Manhattan Project founders of Oak Ridge, who worked through adverse conditions to build the community. Each year thereafter, ETEC has honored individuals or groups of people who have continued to help build and bolster the community’s economic base. The award has been presented to elected officials, business leaders, representatives of the Department of Energy, and others.

The objective is to recognize an individual – not an institution – for significant and long-term contributions to the East Tennessee region with respect to the federal government programs and its spin-offs by leveraging the federal presence to create private sector jobs. Participation in the community beyond the workplace is essential.

The 2016 recipients included Mike Belbeck, Covenant Health; Chuck Fleischmann, U.S. Congressman 3rd District; Frank Munger, recently retired from Knoxville News Sentinel; and Mike Pasqua, recently retired from SAIC/Leidos.

In conjunction with the annual presentation of the Muddy Boot, ETEC will also publicly award the Postma Young Professional Medal.

In 2005, ETEC created the Postma Young Professional Medal to honor the accomplishments of young professionals who have made an impact and fostered a community culture in Oak Ridge and the region. Former ORNL Director Herman Postma epitomized this community spirit during his life; and his wife, Pat, continues the tradition of service today through her local involvement.

The 2016 recipient was Wade Creswell with the Roane Alliance.

Nomination submissions for the Muddy Boot Award and Postma Young Professional Medal should include a letter to the selection committee containing specific reasons for the nomination along with the nominee’s resume and bio.

Detailed criteria for the awards are posted online at Nominations will be accepted through August 25, 2017, and may be submitted online, by email, or through the mail.

Email nominations to:  Tracy Boatner. Mail nominations to: ETEC 2017 Awards Committee; 1201 Oak Ridge Turnpike, Suite 100; Oak Ridge, TN 37830.

For more information, contact Tracy at 865.483.4577.