Mark Koepke
Vice President R&D, Tokamak Energy Inc.
Professor of Physics, West Virginia University

Mark Koepke is Vice President-R&D at Tokamak Energy Inc and Professor of Physics at West Virginia Univ. He received

Mark Koepke, Tokamak Energy

his PhD in experimental plasma physics in 1984 from the Univ. Maryland and spent time at NASA-Goddard, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, and the University of Washington before launching the plasma physics program at West Virginia Univ. in 1987. He served simultaneously as Acting Director of the Research Division, Team Lead for Discovery Science and Joint Programs, and Senior Scientific Coordinator for Basic Plasma Science in the Office of Fusion Energy Sciences, U.S. DOE (2009-2011). Dr. Koepke held visiting appointments in Kiel, Greifswald, Innsbruck, Stockholm, Oxford, and Sandia National Labs. He is Visiting Professor/Academic Visitor at Univ. Strathclyde, Imperial College, and SLAC and is Mercator Fellow at Ruhr Univ. – Bochum. He is a Fellow of the APS, JSPS (Japan), and Institute of Physics (UK), Former Chair of DIII-D Program Advisory Committee, Former Chair of U.S. Burning Plasma Organization Council, Past Chair of Omega Laser User Group, Former Secretary of APS-Gaseous Electronics Conference (presently a member of GEC ExCom), Former APS-DPP Chair, Past Chair of DOE-SC-FESAC, Affiliated Member of DOE-NNSA Center for Astrophysical Plasma Properties (2017-19) and Affiliated Member of DOE-SC Center for Predictive Control of Plasma Kinetics (since 2009). From 2005-2011, he represented the U.S. on Commission 16: Plasma Physics of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) and is U.S. Deputy Editor of the journal Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion. His main research interests include frontier science experiments on DIII-D (General Atomics), TJ-II (CIEMAT), and LAPD (UCLA), Theta/Z Pinch Pulsed-Power Science, basic plasma physics (wave-particle interactions, instabilities, turbulence-induced energy transport, dynamical complexity), space-related Q-machine experiments, Dust/Granule/Nanoparticle Tribology and dusty plasmas (ExoMars lander’s Dust Suite), driven-oscillator spatiotemporal phenomena, low-temperature plasma science, and plasma diagnostic techniques. Sixteen PhD theses have been completed under his supervision across this topical range.