ETEC Call for Nominations: 2022 Muddy Boot Award and Postma Young Professional Medal

Source: ETEC | Release | August 12, 2022

The East Tennessee Economic Council (ETEC) is now accepting nominations for the 2022 Muddy Boot Award and Postma Young Professional Medal. These honors will be awarded at the ETEC Annual Meeting and Awards Celebration in December.

In 1973, the founders of ETEC (then the Roane Anderson Economic Council or R-AEC) created the Muddy Boot Award to reflect the efforts of the Manhattan Project founders of Oak Ridge, who worked through adverse conditions to build the community. Each year thereafter, ETEC has honored individuals or groups of people who have continued to help build and bolster the community’s economic base. The award has been presented to elected officials, business leaders, representatives of the Department of Energy, and others.

The objective is to recognize an individual – not an institution – for significant and long-term contributions to the East Tennessee region with respect to the federal government programs and its spin-offs by leveraging the federal presence to create private-sector jobs. Participation in the community beyond the workplace is essential.

The 2021 Muddy Boot award recipients were Tennessee State Senator Ken Yager, Steve McCracken, long-time Department of Energy environmental management leader, and longtime education advocate Robert S. Eby, P.E.

In 2005, ETEC created the Postma Young Professional Medal to honor the accomplishments of young professionals who have made an impact and fostered a community culture in Oak Ridge and the region. Former ORNL Director Herman Postma epitomized this community spirit during his life; and his wife, Pat, continues the tradition of service today through her local involvement.

The 2021 Postma Medal recipients were to Megan Houchin of Consolidated Nuclear Security, and Oak Ridge Associated Universities’ Jennifer Tyrell.

Nomination submissions for the Muddy Boot Award and Postma Young Professional Medal should include a letter to the selection committee containing specific reasons for the nomination along with the nominee’s resume and bio.

Detailed criteria for the awards are posted online at Nominations will be accepted through Friday, September 23, 2022, and can be submitted through ETEC’s website, by email, or mail.

Email nominations to:
Subject – 2022 Awards

Mail nominations to:

ETEC 2022 Awards Committee
1201 Oak Ridge Turnpike, Suite 100
Oak Ridge, TN 37830

For more information, contact Nicole Allen at or 865.483.4577.

ETEC is an independent, regional, non-profit, membership organization created in the early 1970s, dedicated to supporting the federal government’s missions in East Tennessee, as well as seeking new ways to create prosperity, promote regional development, and explore opportunities for growth.