America’s Supercommittee Draft Picks

The GOP has announced its picks for the powerful “supercommittee” established to find $1.5 trillion in deficit cuts.

American_Boxing_GloveSpeaker John Boehner (R-Ohio) appointed Ways and Means Committee Chairman Dave Camp (R-Mich.), Energy and Commerce Chairman Fred Upton (R-Mich.) and House Republican Conference Chairman Jeb Hensarling (R-Texas) to serve on the panel. Hensarling will serve as co-chairman.

Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) appointed his deputy, Sens. Jon Kyl (R-Ariz.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), a Budget director in the George W. Bush administration, and Tea Party favorite Pat Toomey (R-Pa.).

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D-Nev.) appointed Senate Finance Committee Chairman Max Baucus (D-Mont.), Senate Foreign Relations Committee Chairman John Kerry (D-Mass.) and Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee Chairwoman Patty Murray (D-Wash.).

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) is the only congressional leader who has yet to announce her appointments to the 12-member committee.

Click here to read the complete article.
Click here to read about Majority Leader Harry Reid’s supercommittee selections.

Source: Erik Wasson and Pete Kasperowicz | The Hill