Acronym Guide

Oak Ridge, Tennessee,  is a community that has a lot of federal agencies represented. We hope this list will help you navigate the acronyms and what they stand for. Be sure to click on the acronym for a link with more information. (Hint: If the acronym is pronounced by not saying just the letters, look for the pronunciation below in parentheses.)

AMSE – American Museum of Science & Energy (am-see)

CNS – Consolidated Nuclear Security, LLC

CSC – Office of Science Consolidated Service Center

CROET – Community Reuse Organization of East Tennessee (crow-et)

DOD – Department of Defense

DOE – Department of Energy

EM – Environmental Management

EMDF – Environmental Management Disposal Facility

ETEC – East Tennessee Economic Council (ee-tech)

ERTF – Emergency Response Training Facility

ETTP – East Tennessee Technology Park

IACMI – Institute for Advanced Composites Manufacturing Innovation (eye-ack-mi)

K-25 – the original name for Oak Ridge Gaseous Diffusion Plant, now East Tennessee Technology Park

MDF – Manufacturing Demonstration Facility at Oak Ridge National Laboratory

MPNHP – Manhattan Project National Historical Park

NEI – Nuclear Energy Institute

NNSA – National Nuclear Security Administration

NOAA – National Oceanic and Atmosphere Administration

NPO – NNSA Production Office

NSF – National Science Foundation

ORAU – Oak Ridge Associated Universities (o-rauw)

OREM – Oak Ridge Environmental Management

ORETTC – Oak Ridge Enhanced Technology and Training Center (or-tick)

ORISE – Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education (o-rise)

ORNL – Oak Ridge National Laboratory

ORR – Oak Ridge Reservation

OSBDU – DOE’s Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization

OSTI – Office of Scientific and Technical Information (ost-tea)

SBIR – Small Business Innovation Research

SC – Office of Science

SNS – Spallation Neutron Source

STEM – Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

TCAT – Tennessee College of Applied Technology (tea-cat)

TVA – Tennessee Valley Authority

TWPC – Transuranic Waste Processing Center

UCOR – URS | CH2M Oak Ridge LLC, now an Amentum-led partnership with Jacobs (you-core)

UPF – Uranium Processing Facility

UPO – Uranium Processing Facility Project Office

UT – University of Tennessee

UTK – University of Tennessee, Knoxville Campus

UT-ORII – University of Tennessee Oak Ridge Innovation Institute

UTRF – University of Tennessee Research Foundation

X-10 – the original name for Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Y-12 – Y-12 National Security Complex